2022 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Submission Guidelines

$2,500 will be awarded for the best short story, which will be published in the fall/winter 2022 issue of Colorado Review.

This year’s final judge is Ramona Ausubel; friends and students (current & former) of the judge are not eligible to compete, nor are Colorado State University employees, students, or alumni.

Entry fee to submit online is $17 per story (the extra $2 goes to the amazing people who run Submittable); there is no limit on the number of entries you may submit, though each story must be a separate entry. If you'd like to add $10 and receive a one-year subscription to Colorado Review (normally $24), please enter the category "2022 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction with Subscription to Colorado Review."

Stories must be previously unpublished.

There are no theme restrictions, but stories should be at least 10 pages and under 50 pages. Manuscripts should be double-spaced, 12-point type, and one inch margins.

Your name, address, phone number, and e-mail address should be entered in the cover letter field, separate from your story. Be sure your name is NOT anywhere in the story itself. 

Contest opens December 1, 2021. Deadline is March 14, 2022. We'll observe a grace period of five days for both postal and online submissions.

Winner will be announced by mid-June 2022.

All submissions will be considered for publication.

Writers do NOT need to be residents or citizens of Colorado or the United States. If you are, however, a foreign national working in the United States, please check the conditions of your visa status with regard to receiving payment (in the event your manuscript is selected as the winner) from entities other than your sponsor. Colorado State University cannot issue honoraria to foreign nationals with B1/WB, B2/WT, H-1B, or F-1 visas. A J-1 visa holder with a sponsor other than CSU must have written authorization from the Responsible Officer (RO) at their sponsoring institution prior to the activity.

2022 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction